NEW
Out of Stock
3.1 out of 5 Customer Rating
DYMO LabelWriter 550 Label Printer is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 343.
  • y_2024, m_5, d_29, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_343
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_1373971, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_dymo
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
NEW
Out of Stock

DYMO LabelWriter 550 Label Printer

3.1 out of 5 Customer Rating
DYMO LabelWriter 550 Label Printer is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 343.
  • y_2024, m_5, d_29, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_343
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_1373971, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_dymo
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged
Show More

Product Details

Description
Label printing jobs come fast, accurate, and hassle-free with the DYMO LabelWriter 550 label printer. With its unique Automatic Label Recognition, you always know which labels (by size, type, and color) are loaded into the label maker at a glance. You’ll also know how many labels are remaining, so you'll never run out mid-job. The direct thermal printer replaces the need to buy costly ink or toner, while the portable size helps it fit into any modern workspace with ease. It's up to 20% faster than the LabelWriter 450*. And with the ability to print precise quantities, you'll never need to wrestle with sheet labels again! *Speed based on USB Connected, 4-line address label
Features
  • AUTOMATIC LABEL RECOGNITION: Label printer lets you see the size, type, and number of remaining labels at a glance
  • ELIMINATE WASTE AND HASSLE OF SHEET LABELS: Print precise label quantities with ease
  • NEVER BUY INK AGAIN: Direct thermal label printer, no expensive ink or toner required
  • PRINT FAST: Up to 20% faster than the LabelWriter 450 — prints up to 62* labels per minute*
  • ONLY WORKS WITH AUTHENTIC DYMO LABELS: Uses only high-quality, BPA-free DYMO Authentic LabelWriter labels; paper labels are made from FSC® certified material
  • SOFTWARE COMPATIBILITY: Compatible with free DYMO Connect for Desktop with Windows 8.1 (or later) and Mac 10.14 (or later).
Specifications
  • Item # 2112552
  • Dimensions:  8 ½" x 5 ⅓" x 7 ⅜"
  • Color: Black
  • Software Compatibility: Compatible with DYMO Connect for Desktop with Windows 8.1 (or later) and Mac 10.14 (or later)
  • Label Compatibility: LabelWriter labels manufactured after April 2020.
Best For
  • Mailing and Shipping
    Mailing and Shipping

    Create shipping and mailing labels.

  • Asset Tracking
    Asset Tracking

    Barcode labels help track inventory and assets.

  • Nametag
    Nametag

    Create nametags in seconds.

  • Specialty
    Specialty

    Multi-use labels provide product information and organizational solutions.

  • Pricetag
    Pricetag

    Pricetags provide up-to-date product information.

  • Recommended Use
    • Mailing and Shipping
    • Food Service
    • Retail
    • Visitor Management
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lock-in garbage We initially upgraded from the Dymo 450 to the 550 turbo to get around needing printer servers for network printing. Any money we saved was quickly lost on the labels. The new Automatic Label Recognition system is nothing more than a lock-in scam. Each roll of AUTHENTIC dymo labels has a small RFID chip on the roll. Without that chip the printer wont recognize the labels. We already had cases of the labels we use from a third party vendor, which are better quality and 1/2 the price of AUTHENTIC dymo labels. We invested in 20 printers to learn we had to trash tens of thousands of labels.
    Date published: 2024-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Labels Great for the office, home and church and we use it to label everything from closet space to shelves at our church. If you want the best in label printers Dymo is what you want. The only thing is you HAVE to use authentic Dymo labels for this machine as it detects if your paper is authentic or not. If you use third party labels, chances are the Labelwriter will not recognize it and you will get an error message. Dymo labels are usually more expensive than other labels so if you don't want to spend too much money on labels then this machine is NOT for you. But if you do have the budget to buy
    Date published: 2024-01-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not upgrade to 500-series printers As with many other reviewers, the move to requiring "genuine" Dymo branded label stock will force my company to find another printer solution. We've been using the 400-series printers with 3rd party, custom label stock for years and cannot use the new 500-series models (even if we could, we wouldn't due to the incredibly expensive Dymo label stock). Dymo, this is hurting your business and has lost you a customer from my team.
    Date published: 2022-08-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Inserting text and changing labels Hi, When pasting in a text from somewhere else where there are sometimes alot of tabs between texts, there is a box that end up where there is a tab space. Also the text and design I put in does not stay that way when moving outside the text box for the label. Please see attached pictures. I do not want to have to change this and have to remove the boxes just because there are tab spaces. What I see when adding text should be the same. If I want to change from that, that is when I do alterations. This was not an issue with the 450 and the former printing program. I also want to know and see where my previous prints are as this was possible in the previous version. The previous version was easier to use than this one.
    Date published: 2021-11-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great printer ruined by greed. The 4 series was fantastic. I'm returning all the 5 series though. Dymo no longer makes the label size we use and the closest equivalent cost $20 more for 200 less labels per roll. We use hundreds of thousands of these labels and there is no way to justify that increase in cost. Hopefully Dymo will change their position on this before they go out of business cause I really did like their products.
    Date published: 2023-04-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well I am very pleased with this label writer overall. I did find the instructions a little bit difficult but I had never used a labeler like this one before. The included program was a little hard to figure out at first, but yet again I'd never worked in. It wasn't too steep of a learning curve but I'm fairly knowledgeable when it comes to working on the computer. It took me a couple of days to really get everything down pat. If you don't have a lot of experience on a computer you might find it more difficult but with a little persistence you should be good. I recommend this labeler.
    Date published: 2022-05-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fast and compact I received this from Influenster in exchange for my fair and honest review. This is a very nice label printer that uses thermal paper, so no worries about ink smudging or running out. The app was easy to install and use. The printer is full customizable, you can pick different sizes and fonts to match. I will be using this to print ingredient list/info stickers so the customization and saving templates is really nice. The label maker also came with a roll of address sized labels. However, one star off because this ONLY runs on their brand name labels, which are on the pricey side.
    Date published: 2024-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use! If your looking for a label maker look no further! This has easy software install and it only took a few minutes to set up. You have a variety of fonts to choose from and letter size. The label maker detects the size of labels automatically and keeps track of how many labels are left while you are printing. The best part is that it doesn’t use any ink! It uses heat to print the labels so there will never be ink to replace. I previously worked in an office and used many different types of label makers. This one by far is the best!
    Date published: 2022-04-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would not recommend This product overall is just okay. First, it’s annoying to have to download software to use it and not have an app at this point. For ease of use, I’d prefer the label printer we already have which just has a keyboard to type in what you want. Some customization options available for labels. Too slow to be an office-use label printer unless you have a small office that doesn’t label much. Other reviews that it jams are not promising either. Replacement labels are a little pricey as well compared to my other label printer. Will not use once I use all the labels that came with it.
    Date published: 2024-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So easy to setup and use ! I received the DYMO labelwriter 550 for free from influesnter to use and give an honest review on the product. It was so easy to set up and use . It has automatic label recognition and keys you see the size and type and number of labels left which is super helpful and it's ink free . I use it for addresses, bar codes, and return labels for work and it's printing so much faster and prints in bulk making it such a faster process and helping me get more work done faster. Plus they're a green business going greener every day. That's always a plus when using paper products.
    Date published: 2024-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Label Machine The new Dymo label writer 5 series is a good option if you're looking for a portable and efficient label maker. You'll need to make sure that your computer supports a USB connection before bringing this one home. It took a bit of work to get it connected, but once set up it was pretty straightforward. I love that it doesn't use any inks, but rather direct thermal print technology. It also features automatic label detection so you won't run out without notice. If you're into mailing labels, visitor management, and/or retail labeling this is a good option to consider.
    Date published: 2022-04-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible This is terrible. The only labels that worked are the ones that came with the box. The sensor does not detect the RFID sticker. I even removed it and put it up to the sensor. No dice. Do not buy this machine. It is a blatant cash grab and you will spend more time troubleshooting than printing.
    Date published: 2023-05-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cannot use reasonably priced labels CANNOT be used with aftermarket labels that are reasonably priced. IF you buy this labeler, you will have to purchase DYMO branded labels at literally 5X what every other labels cost ($25 per roll vs $5 per roll) in order to use it as they now detect the label brands. Just be aware.
    Date published: 2024-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what you didn’t know you needed The Dymo Label Maker 550 offers a user-friendly experience with its remarkably easy setup process. The device guides users through a seamless installation, ensuring a quick and hassle-free start. Its intuitive interface and straightforward controls make label creation efficient, making it an excellent choice for those seeking a convenient and user-centric labeling solution. The Dymo Label Maker 550 strikes a balance between functionality and simplicity, making it a reliable tool for various labeling needs. I just wish you could use from your phone via Bluetooth
    Date published: 2024-03-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money on this printer Cabinet full of genuine Dymo labels that won't work with this printer. Will be tossing it in the dumpster and digging through the warehouse for an older model that may still work. If I could give it Zero stars that would be more fitting.
    Date published: 2023-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect label printer for all your small business needs This label printer is soo handy and easy to use! The setup instructions are very simple and clear, making setup a breeze. It connects to your computer using the included cord and you use their software to type and print the labels. The software is very easy to understand and use, even for those who aren't very tech savvy. I did have a little trouble getting the labels in right but you have to make sure they are in the label holder tightly and fed into the print slot all the way for it to print. I will definitely be using this a lot to print address labels!
    Date published: 2024-03-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Major disappointment! Found out LableWriter 550 accepts only authentic Dymo labels. They listed this as a feature? It should be a warning! I am done with Dymo, as anybody with any common sense should be! Rating should be zero.
    Date published: 2023-07-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from BUILT IN DRM You won't be able to use any other lables that the high price ones Dymo charges. Has an RFID chip in the labels that prevents other lables from even being loaded. Honestly makes this label writer dogsht.
    Date published: 2023-07-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Forced to Use Expensive, DYMO Labels. Beware. The built in proprietary label practice is just gross. Dymo charges enormous markups per label for the ones that they create. I wouldn't use this machine if my point of sale didn't require it.
    Date published: 2023-07-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Expensive Prints This label printer is great for all small format labels - mostly I use it for mailing things and printing labels for shipping (which is super easy and great). The software works fine, and it prints the labels well (though I have seen some reviews about formatting issues, but I haven't seen any of that). One giant con to this machine is that it only works with authentic DYMO labels which are, frankly, prohibitively expensive. If you factor in the cost of each label, it significantly increases the postage cost if you are mailing a large amount of things.
    Date published: 2022-04-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT BUY!!!!!! I just got the 550, because the 450 was impossible to find used. I have only used the 450 and I understand why it was the superior model. I was trying to save some cost on office supplies, but this completely negates that as you can ONLY use Dymo paper. Not just that the printer will work ~best~ with Dymo paper, no no it will ONLY work if you have Dymo paper. So unless you have an unlimited budget.... I would not recommend.
    Date published: 2023-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful yet simple label maker! The DYMO LabelWriter 550 is a powerful yet simple to use label printer. It has a compact form factor and can handle printing on a wide number of sizes of labels. The LabelWriter 550 contains automatic label recognition. This means you will need to use OEM label rolls from DYMO with the LabelWriter. For my tasks, this is a bonus. I will always know how many labels I have left on a roll and the computer will always have the correct type when printing. I use mine with a Mac. Installation of the printer and software is easy and quick. I was printing labels after about 5 minutes of opening the box. The print quality of the labels is what you would expect of a DYMO product. It is clean and professional. I highly recommend the LabelWriter 550
    Date published: 2022-04-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't by the latest 550 or 5XL We have about 40 Dymo 400, 450 and 450 turbos deployed. We use 3 different size labels: 1x3 1/2, 1x2 1/8, and 1x1. We resell collectible items and the original packaging is very valuable to the items, therefore we use removable labels so we do not damage the valuable original packaging. Dymo does not offer removable labels. Even at a premium, we would consider buying Dymo labels, but they don't sell what we have been buying for years. We are forced to look for a different printer manufacturer. While testing, we noticed the Dymo 550 would not even recognize its own labels. You have to spin the labels until the printer recognizes the RFID chip inside the roll. This is not great for users who print labels all day long and have to futz with the labels until the printer believes it has it's own labels. We are looking at label makers from the japanese watch maker and striped horseys.
    Date published: 2022-06-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buyer Beware I am very, very frustrated with this model of label printer. Our organization has been using the 450 model with some hiccups but nothing compared to the 550. First was the label issue - we have to buy only dymo brand labels which are four times the cost of a generic brand. I get that dymo wants the label business, but don't gouge your customers. Second - it next to impossible to get our computers and program to detect these printers. We've installed, ran updates, etc... etc.... We are government funded so have very limited budgets. Will try a more expensive label printer - more upfront cost, but if I can get it working and use less expensive labels it will be a win in the long run. Dymo, you are ruining your reputation with this model.
    Date published: 2023-08-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Having to buy only Dymo lables is terrible. We have 4 Dymo printers for our office and needed a 5th. I bought the 550 to add to the mix. Went to put in our labels and they aren't recognized. They have to be authentic Dymo labels. After pricing the authentic ones they are a 150% increase in label costs for us. So we will be switching over to something else once the printers need replacing and we will be scraping the 550 we just bought.
    Date published: 2022-12-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Remove the Dymo Label Restrictions I have worked with the 450 for years in a science lab. We use special labels that are made for extremely cold temps. Dymo does not sell anything compatible with liquid nitrogen temps. We have to switch to a competitor because our 450 are going extinct and can not replace them with the 500/550 new version. I get Dymo wants to make money but how much are they losing by losing loyal customers?
    Date published: 2022-07-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Labels are a pain It's really a pain that we have a stock of older DYMO labels for our 350 & 450 label writers but they won't work on the 550 because they don't have chips. So what am I supposed to do with the older labels we purchased? I am aware the newer models have a chip and we do use the correct labels but my concern is the older dymo labels can't be used so am I to just throw them away? Waste of money and resources. You should have something in place for people to be able to exchange their older dymo labels for the new ones because this is robbery.
    Date published: 2022-06-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't use old dymo label or 2 party,e-waste now :( Can't believe you can't use old dymo label or secondary labels, waste of time and money, I've should of done my research first.... Save yourself and get the 450 or older! Let the 500's die... Have a RFID sticker is shady the limit the stock is pretty nefarious... Just another company try too milk the consumers and try the own us yet again.... We should have a right to own and repair!!!
    Date published: 2024-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fast, space-saving label writer! This DYMO labelwriter 550 is a great addition to a small business. This label writer is fast printing and very user friendly. It's compatible with macs or windows and the software is easy to navigate. The label writer only took a few minutes to inbox and have set up completely. It connected on my first try and automatically detected the labels that I had installed. The space saving design is my favorite aspect of this printer. The only downfall is that you have to use only DYMO brand labels. I would recommend this DYMO labelwriter 550.
    Date published: 2024-01-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a disappointment I did miss the fact that this uses exclusive dymo labels, so thats on me. But i never would have even imagined that a company would have created such a limited use device. It is impossible to get dymo labels delivered in time and in the quantity that I need. I needed 50 of these, only to be completely let down... This project failed on all fronts with all thanks to Dymo... Good thing amazon prime will take back all 50 machines. It's too bad dymo isn't a user friendly organization... Time to start finding 50 450's for the next event.
    Date published: 2022-01-06
    • y_2024, m_5, d_29, h_3
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_343
    • loc_en_US, sid_SP_1373971, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_dymo
    • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
    • reviews, product