NEW
Out of Stock
3.0 out of 5 Customer Rating
DYMO LabelWriter 550 Label Printer is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 298.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_26, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_298
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_1373971, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_dymo
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
NEW
Out of Stock

DYMO LabelWriter 550 Label Printer

3.0 out of 5 Customer Rating
DYMO LabelWriter 550 Label Printer is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 298.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_26, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_298
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_1373971, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_dymo
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged
Show More

Product Details

Description
Label printing jobs come fast, accurate, and hassle-free with the DYMO LabelWriter 550 label printer. With its unique Automatic Label Recognition, you always know which labels (by size, type, and color) are loaded into the label maker at a glance. You’ll also know how many labels are remaining, so you'll never run out mid-job. The direct thermal printer replaces the need to buy costly ink or toner, while the portable size helps it fit into any modern workspace with ease. It's up to 20% faster than the LabelWriter 450*. And with the ability to print precise quantities, you'll never need to wrestle with sheet labels again! *Speed based on USB Connected, 4-line address label
Features
  • AUTOMATIC LABEL RECOGNITION: Label printer lets you see the size, type, and number of remaining labels at a glance
  • ELIMINATE WASTE AND HASSLE OF SHEET LABELS: Print precise label quantities with ease
  • NEVER BUY INK AGAIN: Direct thermal label printer, no expensive ink or toner required
  • PRINT FAST: Up to 20% faster than the LabelWriter 450 — prints up to 62* labels per minute*
  • ONLY WORKS WITH AUTHENTIC DYMO LABELS: Uses only high-quality, BPA-free DYMO Authentic LabelWriter labels; paper labels are made from FSC® certified material
  • FREE DYMO CONNECT FOR DESKTOP SOFTWARE: Create and customize 60+ label types through USB connectivity
Specifications
  • Item # 2112552
  • Dimensions:  8 ½" x 5 ⅓" x 7 ⅜"
  • Color: Black
  • Software Compatibility: Compatible with DYMO Connect for Desktop with Windows 8.1 (or later) and Mac 10.14 (or later)
  • Label Compatibility: LabelWriter labels manufactured after April 2020.
Best For
  • Mailing and Shipping
    Mailing and Shipping

    Create shipping and mailing labels.

  • Asset Tracking
    Asset Tracking

    Barcode labels help track inventory and assets.

  • Nametag
    Nametag

    Create nametags in seconds.

  • Specialty
    Specialty

    Multi-use labels provide product information and organizational solutions.

  • Pricetag
    Pricetag

    Pricetags provide up-to-date product information.

  • Recommended Use
    • Mailing and Shipping
    • Food Service
    • Retail
    • Visitor Management
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Compatibility with Mac, Expensive Labels Directly connected via USB to a new iMac (MacOS Big Sur), printer constantly goes 'offline'. It will work great for a couple of hours and then randomly go 'offline'. It's relentless. We have to train employees to unplug the printer USB and power cords, wait a few seconds, plug back in, then open the CUPS interface, select the printer and 'Resume Printing'. It's a hot mess. Like everyone else, not pleased with the expensive proprietary label requirement.
    Date published: 2021-10-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from 550 don’t buy Have to use the dymo connect software. Which is the worst design software in the world. You cannot do an address book and you cannot import an old address book it is absolutely useless for a business. We bought two of these as we needed to add to the existing ones we had. We just returned them to the store because they’re horrible. Then went on eBay and bought 450s So we can use the good software. I don’t know why they were produce a product that forces you to use their labels and take away the features of a software we’ve been using for the last 10 years. They think it’s just magically going to go away. Horrible marketing. Whoever designed this should be fired.
    Date published: 2022-01-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from How to kill a great product Dymo has been the go-to label maker for Public Libraries for many years. Labels are printed all day - library cards, spine labels, address labels, etc. Now our many, MANY custom library card labels are useless when the 450's break. And don't even get me started on the new printing software - God Awful! Bring back the interface, features and reliability of Dymo V.8 (but keep the text box feature). Proprietary RFID chip labels, and bad software killed a once great product. Now I have to research other label makers - and we are not the only public library to have reached the same conclusion.
    Date published: 2021-12-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only works with a few select labels This is on paper such a great printer, better than the 450 series in many great ways. On just hardware alone this is a 5/5 product. Unfortunately, they made the decision to only allow Dymo brand labels. This would be acceptable if they offered a broad range of labels for this device, but they only offer a limited selection--none of which work for our purposes. I would gladly void the warranty and use other labels, but DYMO insttalled RFID chips to ensure there is no way to use other labels on this device. This is a wonderful piece of tech now utterly useless for us. A sad example of prioritizing profits over customers.
    Date published: 2023-02-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don’t buy this - marketing fail To use it, you need to have the newest version of Mac Os or Windows. Since we have Mac OS 10.13 and our computer doesn’t run the 10.14 version, we can’t download the good software (the software used for the 450 serie doesn’t work with 550 serie). It’s also built cheaper than 450. They took off the market all the 450’s, they are nowhere to be found. If you are lucky enough to have the 450, keep it. Been 30 minutes on the line waiting to have service, to be told « i’m sorry ma’am, you need to change your computer »
    Date published: 2021-11-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from DYMO Labels don't work either! Researched the 450 series. Sounded great. Bought the 550 turbo because the shop didn't have any 450s. Thought it was just a newer version. Big mistake. Can't use generic labels and just discovered that the printer doesn't recognise the second lot of DYMO labels I purchased. Would be a great product if it wasn't so heavily locked down. Sometimes less is more.
    Date published: 2021-11-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well, but has some flaws The process from unboxing to printing my first label posed some challenges. The label maker requires 2 cords, so having to run the cord under my desk to the outlet and the other to my PC left me to maneuver the cords to get to the keyboard. The instruction booklet helped somewhat in helping me install the labels, but I still faced numerous paper jams when printing for the first time. I think the instructions could have been more thorough. The wrap of labels was bound by a sticker, and peeling it removed some of the first 2 labels, which I thought was wasteful. The good news is that I liked the company's software and it was fun to design a label.
    Date published: 2024-01-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Automated Label Recognition Automated Label Recognition = you HAVE to buy Dymos overpriced labels. Way to lose customers, Dymo.
    Date published: 2021-10-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not buy the 550 - no custom labels option Do not buy the 550- you can not use 3rd party custom labels. Dymo offers their own plain labels but they do not print custom labels...so the printer is useless.
    Date published: 2021-11-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice printer, shame about the labels Just received my 550 and have found what everyone else here is talking about – the 'unique Automatic Label Recognition'. I can't use any of the many Dymo labels I have in the cupboard, because they don't have a chip. Would have been nice if this had been an optional 'feature' that can be turned off. Speaking for my self, I don't care 'which labels (by size, type, and color) are loaded', or 'how many labels are remaining'.
    Date published: 2021-11-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only Dymo labels Only works with official Dymo labels, no thanks Dymo
    Date published: 2021-10-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stay away I have gone through a whole roll of labels and not one printed correctly even though the print review was right. One copy selected and 2-8 came through blank.
    Date published: 2021-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Space Saving Lablewriter I got this Dymo Labelwriter 550 for address label making and product description labels (own a restaurant). The machine itself is small but fast and mighty. From unboxing to printing my first label took about 10 minutes and let me add I am NOT a computer guru. The quick start up guide included made the set up easy and fast. So far its holding up great for all my label making. I love that I can use different size labels with the same machine. Switching out the labels takes less than a minute. This setup also keeps up with how many labels you have left on the spool which is very nice. No surprise running out in the middle of printing job. I love this Dymo Labelwriter 550.
    Date published: 2022-04-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horror This was a Christmas present and I hate to say DYMO made it the worst. Let me jump straight to the point here please do not waste your money on this DYMO 550. Upon opening the box I notice the small very small roll of label that was sent, it was so small the printer read empty, I mean of the price you would think an actual roll of labels will come with it. Next, due to the small roll of label I couldn't tell if the printer or software was an issue, here comes the best part No other label refills will work with this and DYMO do not have label refill to match this 550. I mean come on which fool would think about selling a product without refills to go with it. I will be returning this. Very disappointed.
    Date published: 2022-01-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't use non-Dymo labels Nice Dymo, force us to use Dymo labels so we can pay twice the cost. Thanks for ripping me off. I would not have bought this if I'd known I needed authentic (overpriced) Dymo labels.
    Date published: 2021-11-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Buisness I've use the Dymo SDK in our software to print labels to run our business for many years. We use many 450s and 450 turbo printers throughout our company. Since the 450s are discontinued, we bought a 550 to add a printer. The labels that we print are custom for our products and packaging. We have used them for years and the SDK supports the label length setting to support the custom labels. Now this printer won't accept our labels so we can't label our products or run our business without considerable unplanned cost and disruption to modify our software to use a different printer. I called support and they told me that there is no solution as they refuse to make custom labels. No Warning from Dymo, no solution.
    Date published: 2023-05-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don’t buy Bought a month ago. Absolutely usless. Wil not print to correct sizes , difficult to set up, jams all the time. Didn’t really want to buy another Dyno as the 450 is forever jamming , but figured this would be better. It isn’t. Oh and the kicker, it’s “product locked” so u can’t add the significantly cheaper( and better quality) stickers that are readily available. We HAD to buy different stickers because the branded dymo stickers are usless and don’t stick to ANYTHING. DONT BUY. Going to probably bin mine it’s that awful. Thanks Dymo. You’re a joke.
    Date published: 2021-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Labelwriter 550 I am very impressed with this product. My husband runs a small business from home and sends out packages regularly. This Label writer works wonderful at printing up shipping labels. The fact that it is a laser printer and does use ink cartridges is a big plus! Another excellent feature is that you have an exact count of how many labels are left on the roll so he doesn't run out mid print job. The only downside I have is that you must use the brand name print stickers when reordering because generic labels wont work. This is a little costly but other than that, this label writer is a great but and a great product.
    Date published: 2022-04-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't even recognize all genuine dymo labels When I bought this I naturally got the most recent model of printer, in other works the 550 and not the 450. I would have saved myself a lot of trouble if I hadn't. Yes it clearly states that it only works with genuine dymo labels, but it does not state that it will only work with certain genuine dymo labels. The only labels I've actually managed to print are from the roll that came in the box! Save yourself some hassle and buy a 450.
    Date published: 2021-12-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Proprietary labels at twice the price We have been using the 400/450 for years. We don't use a branded label, just generic. We use these for visitors at all our customers sites. They have sites internationally so you are talking about 1000s of visitors daily. The proprietary labels are way beyond expensive. We did the calculations and over a years time of buying the new labels, it's cheaper to buy different branded label printers and switch all our sites over. Dymo just kill their sales of the Dymo lablewriter series with this one.
    Date published: 2023-02-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unparalleled Joy: Returning 5 Series, A True Trium h, what a delightful experience it was with the 4 series! So fantastic that I couldn't resist returning all the 5 series. Why, you ask? Well, it's simply because Dymo, in their infinite wisdom, decided to stop making the label size we conveniently use. Isn't that just marvelous? Now, the closest equivalent they offer costs a mere $20 more and gives us a whopping 200 fewer labels per roll. Such a bargain, right? We're talking about hundreds of thousands of labels here, but who needs to worry about that minor inconvenience? Surely, we should all happily embrace this price hike without a second thought. Oh, how I do hope that Dymo changes their stance soon before they face the tragic fate of going out of business. Because, you know, I really adored their products. Absolutely adored them.
    Date published: 2023-06-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too limited as it doesn't take third-party labels Dymo doesn't offer the label size I need and the nearest one is too big - so I thought I could use third-party labels but tough luck. I know where you come from in terms of business model but it's not okay. I've returned the printer and you've lost a customer due to this product until you update it to be more useful and accept custom label sizes and third-party consumables. It's easier and cheaper to have my labels printed by an external supplier rather than doing it in-house with your product.
    Date published: 2023-05-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from 550 is junk I have 4 of the 450's, and work great for 2 years and still do. Need to more and when with the 550, thinking New would be better... Not the case. They wont dont work!!!!
    Date published: 2021-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Streamlined Efficiency - LabelWriter 550 Review The LabelWriter 550 is a game-changer for anyone seeking streamlined efficiency in labeling. Its user-friendly design and reliable performance make labeling tasks a breeze. The speed and precision with which it handles labels contribute to a more productive workflow. Kevin's suggestion for the LabelWriter 550 was spot-on, showcasing his product knowledge. Whether you're organizing your office, creating shipping labels, or enhancing your filing system, this label writer offers a seamless and efficient solution. Thanks to Kevin and the brand for delivering a product that truly simplifies labeling tasks!
    Date published: 2024-01-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this!!! As many people said this cannot be used with "off-label" labels. DYMO has a very very limited selection of their own labels. We are a research lab that requires labels that are stable at -80C and these are not available. All the customer support says: "Sorry... blabla... only compatible with our own labels..." Maybe DYMO will re-think their customer support and what people actually need rather than trying to slice out every cent from their customer.
    Date published: 2023-02-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from The last Dymo label printer I will ever buy. Dymo make this printer only accept their branded labels. Before the Dymo team give the spiel about it been clearly advertised, yes, I know. It wouldn't be a problem except, they are ridiculously expensive and don't resolve printing issues. I print at least 2x the labels I need to because almost every time I print 1 label it spits out one or 2 blanks that I then can't use. The money I save on buying a new printer that works will pay for itself in a couple of months. Such a disappointment given my previous Dymo products have so great.
    Date published: 2023-11-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ghosts texts and prints unevenly. Having been a Dymo user for years I am truly disappointed. On top of the bad printing the app software is incredibly buggy. To the point that companies that I work for no longer buy these products. THE ABSOLUTE WORST IS THAT THE SOFTWARE CRASHES AND DOESN'T EVEN LET YOU COPY-PASTE FROM WORD WITHOUT CRASHING.
    Date published: 2021-11-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lock-in garbage We initially upgraded from the Dymo 450 to the 550 turbo to get around needing printer servers for network printing. Any money we saved was quickly lost on the labels. The new Automatic Label Recognition system is nothing more than a lock-in scam. Each roll of AUTHENTIC dymo labels has a small RFID chip on the roll. Without that chip the printer wont recognize the labels. We already had cases of the labels we use from a third party vendor, which are better quality and 1/2 the price of AUTHENTIC dymo labels. We invested in 20 printers to learn we had to trash tens of thousands of labels.
    Date published: 2024-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Labels Great for the office, home and church and we use it to label everything from closet space to shelves at our church. If you want the best in label printers Dymo is what you want. The only thing is you HAVE to use authentic Dymo labels for this machine as it detects if your paper is authentic or not. If you use third party labels, chances are the Labelwriter will not recognize it and you will get an error message. Dymo labels are usually more expensive than other labels so if you don't want to spend too much money on labels then this machine is NOT for you. But if you do have the budget to buy
    Date published: 2024-01-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not upgrade to 500-series printers As with many other reviewers, the move to requiring "genuine" Dymo branded label stock will force my company to find another printer solution. We've been using the 400-series printers with 3rd party, custom label stock for years and cannot use the new 500-series models (even if we could, we wouldn't due to the incredibly expensive Dymo label stock). Dymo, this is hurting your business and has lost you a customer from my team.
    Date published: 2022-08-03
    • y_2024, m_2, d_26, h_11
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_298
    • loc_en_US, sid_SP_1373971, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_dymo
    • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
    • reviews, product